cart

RVA Bike Month

RVA Bike Month 2018: Bike to the Future

The 5th Annual RVA Bike Month, presented by Bon Secours, is back! Here’s what to do.

1) Come out to every event you can! There’s something for everyone in Richmond, Henrico, Chesterfield, and Hanover/Ashland!
2) Invite your friends! Share the link www.rvabikemonth.com.
3) RSVP and share our central RVA Bike Month Facebook event for updates and chatting with other riders!
4) Participate in the National Bike Challenge! Click here to link your Strava (which you’ll need to download first – it’s free!)
5) Post about how much fun you’re having! Use #rvabike, #rvabikemonth, and tag Bike Walk RVA (@bikewalkrva) on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram! There will be prizes throughout the month for best posts and photos, so STAY TUNED!
6) Keep checking back here as events are updated, added, or modified (because sometimes it rains).
7) Volunteer! Either contact an event organizer directly or reach out to us at [email protected]

Events by Date

April 28

VCU Alumni Ride
Larry Powell – wlpowell @vcu.edu

Outpost Richmond West Point 200k Adventure Ride
Braden Govoni – braden @outpostrichmond.com

SOTJ Farmer’s Market Ride
Charles Warren – charlesjwarren @gmail.com

April 29

Pedal through Petals
Amy Williams – awilliams @hunton.com

Southside Community Bike Swap
Kurt Stolte-  stoltekw @gmail.com and info @outpostrichmond.com

May 1

Taco Tour
Joe Moulis – joemoulis @yahoo.com

May 2

After work downtown Capital Trail Ride
Susan Ann Glass – cycle.babe13 @yahoo.com

May 3

RVAMore Social Ride
Ann Gongora – annrva27 @gmail.com

May 4

Star Wars Ride: May the Fourth be with you
Jamie Pham – jamieluvstea @gmail.com

May 5

Women’s Intro to BMX
Kendell Ryan belljoyriderichmondva @gmail.com

Bike to the Scoop
Catherine Illian catherineillian @gmail.com

1 Step 2 Health Ride
Andrea Boozer

RABA New Riders Ride
John Johnson and Wes Surina – wessurina @gmail.com, mksm1 @msn.com

May 6

Dirtbags 100* Gravel Grinder
Braden Govoni – braden @outpostrichmond.com

Pocahontas Family Tour of Trails
Miriam Ford – miriamford @hotmail.com

May 7

Richmond Highlights Twilight Tour by Richmond Rides
catherine @richmondrides.net

May 9

Bike to School Day
Tara FitzPatrick (SRTS Coordinator) – tara @grfit4kids.org

Better Housing Coalition Community Tour
Max Hepp-Buchanan – max @sportsbackers.org

Bike & Paddle by Basket & Bike
Anne Poarch; Justin Doyle – anne @basketandbike.com

May 11

Back to the Future outdoor screening
Michael Delano – michael.delano @giantbicycles.com

Lewis Ginter: Free Tours of Bloemendaal House

May 12

VCTF Cap 2 Cap Ride
Cat Anthony – cat @virginiacapitaltrail.org

West End Ride to Farmers Market
Georgiana Ball – balloeg @gmail.com

Armstrong Bike Park Work Day

May 13 – Mother’s Day

“Crossings of the James” History Ride
Andrew McRoberts – andrewrmcroberts @gmail.com

May 14

Beginners Bike Polo
Adam Steinman – adamds_1 @yahoo.com

Traffic Skills 101: Certified Bike Skills Instruction
Eric Martin martin4bike @gmail.com

May 15

Bryan Park Summer Race Series Season Opener
Joe Notarnicola – josephj1964 @gmail.com

May 16

Wednesday Night Ride w/ DFL
dflrva @gmail.com

May 17

Black Girls Do Bike Ride + Munch – rescheduled to 5/31
Tamara Broadnax – tamara.broadnax @vcuhealth.org

Bike + Yoga with Richmond Rides
catherine @richmondrides.net

May 18

*Bike To Work Day* – POSTPONED

Bike to Work Day afternoon at Gather

Dominion Energy Riverrock

May 19

Dominion Energy Riverrock

Pello Bikes and Parkers Southside Ride

Cap Trail Bike Shuttle “Bucket List” Ride
Alison McGrail – mcgralison @gmail.com

RABA Beginners Ride
John Johnson and Wes Surina – wessurina @gmail.com, mksm1 @msn.com

May 20

Dominion Energy Riverrock

RVA Mural Ride
Liza Newell – lizanewell70 @gmail.com

Very Richmond Ride
Duront Walton – waltondd @icloud.com

Kids Intro to BMX
Sean Yeager – csyeager @gmail.com

May 21

Scavenger/Treasure Hunt, 2nd Annual
Kate Drake and Tim Kelly – katedrake7 @gmail.com and timkelly @timkelly.org

May 22

Bryan Park Summer Race Series
Joe Notarnicola – josephj1964 @gmail.com

Architecture Bike Tour – rescheduled to 5/26
Emily Baker – baker.emily.ann @gmail.com

May 23

Women’s Road Ride Clinic
Kendell Ryan belljoyriderichmondva @gmail.com

May 24

Breakaway RVA Season Opener
Josh Son – joshnokson @gmail.com

May 25

Pizza Crawl 9 – *Pre-registration required!*
Grant Fanning – fanning.grant @gmail.com

RVA Critical Mass
Marina Kharitonova – roxette521 @gmail.com

May 26

Northside Family Brunch Ride
Jason James jjames @umw.edu

Architecture Bike Tour

May 27

Ashland Ticket to Ride
Louise Evans – lsmithevans @comcast.net

May 28 – Memorial Day

A Journey Along the James by Basket & Bike
Anne Poarch – anne @basketandbike.com

May 29

Bryan Park Summer Race Series
Joe Notarnicola – josephj1964 @gmail.com

May 30

May 31

Lakeside Wheel Club History Ride
Stephen Salpukas – salpukas @hotmail.com

Black Girls Do Bike + Munch

June 1

*Bike To Work Day* – morning ride with Mayor Stoney

Bon Secours East End Bike Party and RVA Bike Month Awards
Brantley Tyndall – brantley @sportsbackers.org

Nominations due for awards by 5/20, then voting 5/21-30.

June 2

Cargo bikes and kids celebration! – CANCELED
Max Hepp-Buchanan – max @sportsbackers.org