Event updates, fun stuff, and encouragement...just a click away!

Sports Backers Blog

Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete finalists announced for June 3 awards dinner

RICHMOND, VA – The Richmond Region’s finest high school scholar-athletes will be on display and rewarded for their hard work on Monday night, June 3, when the 28th annual Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner takes place at The Jefferson Hotel. This year the program is awarding $70,000 in college scholarships to 20 outstanding high school student-athletes, as well as awards to the male and female HCA Virginia Sports Medicine Comeback Athletes of the Year and the first-ever Williams Mullen Community Impact Award. Scholarships for 2019 also include the Cheryl Lockett Oliver Memorial Scholarship, to be awarded to one college-bound senior female, and the Raymond Delaware Patterson Memorial Scholarship, to be awarded to one college-bound senior male. Finalists for the Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Program were announced in this morning’s newspaper.

The featured guest will be Kristin Carpenter Steadman. She was the 2009 Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete of the Year while at Hanover High School. Steadman was the All-Metro volleyball player of the year in the fall of 2008 before going to Penn State, where she was part of teams that won two NCAA championships and three Big Ten championships. She played professionally in Sweden and Greece before becoming an assistant coach at Virginia then at the University of Oklahoma. She currently is an assistant coach at the University of Maryland. Steadman was recently named Hanover High’s greatest athlete in a Times-Dispatch series featuring the greatest athlete from 50 of the area’s high schools.


 Girls                                                                  Boys

Hannah Ballowe St. Catherine’s Sam Brooks Goochland
Lexi Baumhover Cosby Ali Ibrahim Glen Allen
Molly Grube Manchester Ricky Jones Hopewell
Megan Kratzer Hanover Jacob Moss Powhatan
Emme Levenson Douglas Freeman Elby Omohundro St. Christopher’s
Lauren Murphy Mills Godwin Corvell Poag Armstrong
Abby Rieck James River Logan Ransom Steward
Sally Snead Trinity Episcopal Nick Viers Douglas Freeman
Lily Snow Deep Run Christian White Highland Springs
Sierra Tutwiler Highland Springs David Winters Maggie Walker

The finalists will attend the dinner not knowing who the male and female Scholar-Athletes of the Year will be. The two winners will each receive a $7,500 scholarship. A male and female runner-up will receive $5,000 each, while the remaining finalists will each receive a $2,500 grant. Finalists were chosen from a pool that included one male and one female nominee from each high school within the Richmond Times-Dispatch’s primary circulation area.

This is the 28th year of the program, which has now awarded a total of $1,103,000 to 536 outstanding student-athletes from the Richmond area.

A limited number of tickets for the Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner are available for $100 each. The deadline to order tickets is Wednesday, May 29 or when the event sells out, whichever comes first. For ticket information call Faith Hecht at the Sports Backers at 804-285-9495 x243 or email at [email protected].