Beat the February 20th 10k price increase!

Sports Backers Blog

Finalists Announced for Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards


RICHMOND, VA – The Richmond Region’s finest high school scholar-athletes will be on display and rewarded for their hard work on Monday night, June 4, when the 27th annual Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner takes place at The Jefferson Hotel. This year the program is awarding $70,000 in college scholarships to 20 outstanding high school student-athletes, as well as awards to the male and female HCA Virginia Sports Medicine Comeback Athletes of the Year and Williams Mullen Team of the Year awards. New scholarships for 2018 also include the Cheryl Lockett Oliver Memorial Scholarship, to be awarded to one college-bound senior female, and the Raymond Delaware Patterson Memorial Scholarship, to be awarded to one college-bound senior male. Finalists for the Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Program were announced in this morning’s newspaper.

Andre Ingram, a Richmond native whose 10-year journey to the National Basketball Association and standout performance with the Los Angeles Lakers in early April captured the nation’s attention, will serve as the featured guest at the 2018 Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner. Ingram is a Highland Springs High School graduate and was the Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers male Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2003 before going on to a highly successful four-year career as a student-athlete at American University and embarking on his professional career.

                                          Girls                                                                                          Boys

Carter Bristow Douglas Freeman   Ian Baker Monacan
Imani Edmonds Hopewell   Greg Cuffey Hopewell
Madison Goff Goochland   Maddison Furman St. Christopher’s
Ashley Henneberger Glen Allen   Collin Gerardi Powhatan
Madison Jiranek St. Catherine’s   John King Goochland
Lexi Long Deep Run   Grant Northcutt Cosby
Lauren McCarey Maggie Walker   Cory O’Shea Mills Godwin
Cara Menges St. Catherine’s   Joe Paul Maggie Walker
Addie Nash Trinity Episcopal   Scott Phillips Collegiate
Maiya Pencile Matoaca   Matthew Whelan J.R. Tucker

The finalists will attend the dinner not knowing who the male and female Scholar-Athletes of the Year will be. The two winners will each receive a $7,500 scholarship. A male and female runner-up will receive $5,000 each, while the remaining finalists will each receive a $2,500 grant. Finalists were chosen from a pool that included one male and one female nominee from each high school within the Richmond Times-Dispatch’s primary circulation area.

This is the 27th year of the program, which has now awarded a total of $1,033,000 to 514 outstanding student-athletes from the Richmond area.

A limited number of tickets for the Times-Dispatch/Sports Backers Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner are available for $100 each. The deadline to order tickets is Tuesday, May 29 or when the event sells out, whichever comes first. For ticket information call Faith Hecht at the Sports Backers at 804-285-9495 x250 or email at [email protected].